Connecting rods Question

More
21 Aug 2007 09:22 #165390 by ricerocket
Connecting rods Question was created by ricerocket
I know they say these bikes are pretty much bullit proof.My question is if the rodes are part of the crank.Could you buy after market rods whch are removable by themselves?
Like other bikes.Held on with two bolts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2007 09:34 #165392 by Samwell
Replied by Samwell on topic Connecting rods Question
I don't think you'll find one that'll fit. I had my crank serviced by the good folks at Falicon. I had to have a rod replaced and they used the same design as stock. Not a two-piece rod. I think it has to do with one piece cranks (and therefore two-piece rods) use plain bearings and ours use roller bearings.

Keep in mind that I'm no expert! ;)

--
Current Rides: 2013 BMW R1200GSW, 1972 BMW R75/5
Current Project: 1978 KZ1000A2: Supercrank'd by Falicon, APE studs and nuts, Dyna Green coils, powder coated frame and fenders, Stainless brake lines, dual front discs, pods, Kerker Exhaust, 1075cc with JE pistons

More
21 Aug 2007 09:46 #165394 by ricerocket
Replied by ricerocket on topic Connecting rods Question
Oh,See i was thinking it would be nice to weld a crank and if a rods goes bad justreplace it.

More
21 Aug 2007 16:46 #165472 by APE Jay
Replied by APE Jay on topic Connecting rods Question
No can do. The roller bearing motors have very low oil pressure. If you tried to convert to bolt on plain bearing rods, you would have to make a complete high pressure oiling system.

Jay

More
22 Aug 2007 03:13 #165558 by themachine
Replied by themachine on topic Connecting rods Question
why would you want to do that, it would make the bottom end less bulletproof! (rpm wise)

82 kawaski csr1000 Evolved into a streetfighter.

I love Speed! Hot Nasty Badass Speed!!!

More
22 Aug 2007 03:13 #165559 by tjettim
Replied by tjettim on topic Connecting rods Question