Waugggghhhh! Why does my mpg suck?

More
29 Jun 2007 14:12 #153702 by Noah Mercy
Waugggghhhh! Why does my mpg suck? was created by Noah Mercy
I'm only getting about 25-30mpg from my '81 KZ550. Most of my riding is at 55 mph and below and I always try to keep it in top gear once I'm up to speed. I understood these bikes got double that kind of fuel economy or better.:blink:

My scoot only has 9500 miles on it and the previous owner had gone through the carbs. The bike had set for years and the brac's were full o' nasties (that's a tekinuckle term). Is there any chance that they got thrown together improperly? He had a factory service manual, and refurbing old bikes is his hobby, so it's not my first assumption, but I'm not familiar enough with these carbs to know if it is possible to get jets/orifices mixed up or if excessive pitting could be allowing fuel to bypass its normal path.

Suggestions from you experienced types is very welcome and appreciated. I'm a former marine mechanic and know my way around engines, but I'm smart enough to get some ideas before I tear into something I don't have personal experience with.

B)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jun 2007 14:49 #153709 by ScubasTrunkMnky
Replied by ScubasTrunkMnky on topic Waugggghhhh! Why does my mpg suck?
1.) Stock airbox or aftermarket pods?
2.) Stock jets or aftermarket Jet Kit?
3.) Stock exhaust or aftermarket?
4.) Leaking gas anywhere under the tank from a line?

1.) Aftermarket pods can do this if you don't have the carbs synched properly and adjusted correctly.
2.) Aftermarket jets can do this, once again, if the carbs are not adjusted correctly.
3.) Quite a few aftermarket exhausts have baffles in them and when they get clogged, they can do this.
4.) Well, leaking gas can do this because, umm, it's leaking. I didn't really know how I was actually going to explain that one at the end...

More
29 Jun 2007 15:58 #153723 by Noah Mercy