to restore or not to restore, that is the question

More
30 Dec 2005 16:18 #15295 by primemover
Hello Everyone (i guess we had a face lift here! looks great!!),

Hope the holidays are treating us well....

Back Story:

I started riding this past season, have a 1987 KZ305, put 3k miles on her this summer and she is currently winterized and "safe" for the winter...

I'm new to bikes (the KZ305 is my first) and am not well versed in "mechanic" type things....

I've come into possession of a 1978 KZ400 (~6000 miles) that is in need of LOTS of TLC....

I got it for $250 and am trying to decide if:

1) it is simply good for some "engine" practice

2) If i should part her out

or

3) if i should try an ALL OUT restore....

The bike is in disrepair and the basic specs are:

minor issues (as far as i can tell):
- no mirrors,
- seat a little ripped,
- gas tank dented (but no rust inside)
- pitting and rust here/there (handle bars, rake, rims)
- battery is dead (of coruse)
- headlight is missing

mjaor issues (as far as i can tell):
- master cylander is damaged
- no brake cables

the "good":
- tires seem "ok" holding air
- carbs look "ok" from the outside
- has all blinkers

i basically took this off my friends hands (sight unseen) thinking that i could use it for some parts (if needed) for my KZ305 (though i'm still not certain how much of it would be useful for the 305).

It does have a rack which i have been looking for for QUITE some time, so if nothing else, i'll keep that....

any thoughts?
suggestions?

at the very least, i'm considering taking it apart, cleaning it up and then deciding if(what) i part out or start to tinker/restore....

there are a number of tasks i need to learn (changing a tire tube, some gasket type engine repairs) that i am a LITTLE worried about PRACTICING on my current ride....

well, that's about it....

- prime....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Dec 2005 16:38 #15300 by Jeff.Saunders