Poping while excelerating...help!

More
19 May 2007 21:02 #141630 by DinOwnSu
Poping while excelerating...help! was created by DinOwnSu
Hello all,

Im a noob to the forums and a proud owner of a 1977 KZ650. I just got it running with a friend and it may have had some bad gas while sitting, but when I accelerarte it pops like crazy and I have very minimal exceleration. Just wondering if this is a carb or timing issue? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Dino

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 May 2007 01:21 #141648 by FloridaBiker
Replied by FloridaBiker on topic Poping while excelerating...help!
Can you define the popping noise better?

Which of these do you think it is - or could be?
DETONATION
BACKFIRE THROUGH CARBURETOR
ROD OR MAIN BEARING KNOCK
VALVE CLATTER

More
20 May 2007 06:46 #141668 by JR
Replied by JR on topic Poping while excelerating...help!
Could be one thing or a whole pile of things.
How long was it sitting ?
Was it running well before it was left sitting ?

First thing I would do is drain the carbs and gastank and fill up with fresh. Then start with the ignition.
Minimal acceleration would make me wonder if it is running on all cylinders - spray water on the exhaust pipes. If it sizzles right off then it's running on that cylinder.

Do you have a manual ?
The bike probably just needs a good service - timing, valves etc.

1980 kz750E1, Delkevic exhaust

• RetroRiceRocketRider
  • User
  • ...bring in the machine that goes PING!
More
20 May 2007 07:00 #141673 by RetroRiceRocketRider
Replied by RetroRiceRocketRider on topic Poping while excelerating...help!
Welcome to KZr DinOwnSu.

Like suggested, drain all of the old fuel and use new fuel.
From the your description it sounds like one of the points is sticking and/or corroded, so that would be the next area after adding new fuel that I'd recommend checking into. :)

Covina, So Calif!
78 KZ650-B2 = SOLD
84 ZN700 LTD = SOLD
84 ZX750 GPz = SOLD