KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st

More
29 Jan 2007 21:35 #109086 by Dustproof
KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st was created by Dustproof
Hi Guy's,

I am new to this bike and was wondering if all KZ650D's have a whine in 1st gear. I got the bike fired up the other day for the first time and took it around the block to test. My other bike is a GSX1400 which has a factory fitted whine in 1st.

It also has a rattle at around idle and goes away as you rev it. It sounds more cam chain related, I checked the auto tensioner and it fixed it mostly but still rattles a bit. As it warms up it tends to go away as it idles faster.

Thanks
Noel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• wireman
  • Visitor
29 Jan 2007 21:44 #109090 by wireman
Replied by wireman on topic KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st
that sounds normal to me,saw the light and decided to get a real bike huh?dont let that 650 scare ya,if you can hold that 1400 down that 650 shouldnt be much trouble for ya!:P welcome to z-jungle

More
29 Jan 2007 22:03 #109097 by RomSpaceKnight
Replied by RomSpaceKnight on topic KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st
I believe the 650's have a chain driven bottom end that has an issue with clunking at low revs. It whines only in first?

More
29 Jan 2007 22:44 #109104 by Dustproof
Replied by Dustproof on topic KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st
I see the chain in the manual, does the rattle mean failure some time soon or will it laste for a good while yet. A friend has a Zepher 750 which has a similar noise at idle as well, I tend to thing hers is cam chain.

Thanks
Noel

More
30 Jan 2007 12:05 #109180 by kzwolfsr
Replied by kzwolfsr on topic KZ650SR Gearbox whine in 1st