Clutch Adjustment Z1000J

More
09 Jan 2007 12:21 #104480 by Kiwiz
Clutch Adjustment Z1000J was created by Kiwiz
Hi,
I am a newbie to this site and wondered if we had any experts on the Z1000J as members.

I have been having a problem with the clutch release lever over rotating and jamming the engine in the declutched position. I have followed the instructions in the manual (both Clymer and official Kawasaki) to the letter and am convinced that that is the root of my problem. The manual says the adjuster screw should be turned clockwise until it meets resistance and then backed out a quarter of a turn. This I believe only applies to the conventional worm set up. Mine is different being a ball and ramp set up.

Here the adjusting screw moves a cam plate back and forth in the housing and does not bear directly on the operating arm. I have dismantled the mechanism and concluded that as the adjusting screw thread is a RHT, to reduce clearance it is neccessary to turn it anti clockwise, as the screw is required to move the cam plate inwards. If you think of the adjusting screw as a bolt and the cam as a nut, to move the nut outwards with a captive bolt you unscrew it!

This suggests to me that both manuals only talk about the worm mechanism and that the ball and ramp clutch adjustment is done the opposite way. Can anyone confirm my reasoning is correct?

Post edited by: Kiwiz, at: 2007/01/09 15:24

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jan 2007 01:13 #104633 by Z1109R Fin
Replied by Z1109R Fin on topic Clutch Adjustment Z1000J
You are now mixing two different adjustements. The release system inside the sprocket cover adjusts the amount of release i.e just enough to release the clutch but not to make it slip. If you make it slighly too tight it will slip and too loose it won´t release properly.