Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Throttle issues. 04 Oct 2019 00:38 #811753

• BlueBerry650
  • BlueBerry650's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
So ive been fighting this issue for a few months.
I have a 1980 Kawasaki kz650 LTD
Bone stock minus the exhaust being cut off due to the stock ones being clogged.

It starts up fine and has a good idel with a little choke till its nice and warm. Though it will randomly rev up to around 3-5 grand and hang there until i use less choke.
Also im haveing an issue with the throttle bogging jt down to the point the bike dies.
If i let it warm up and i try to ride it it wont rev past about 2 grand.
Any ideas???

Fairly new to the bike still learning it. I have a feeling it may have part to do with not having the proper back pressure.

The carbs have been completely refurbished and the values have been adjusted back to stock.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Throttle issues. 04 Oct 2019 08:51 #811784

• baldy110
  • User
  • Thank you received: 510
It needs mufflers to run correctly.
The following user(s) said Thank You: 650ed

Throttle issues. 04 Oct 2019 13:40 #811800

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828
baldy110 is absolutely correct. Without a proper exhaust system the engine will not run right. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
The following user(s) said Thank You: baldy110

Throttle issues. 04 Oct 2019 15:17 #811805

• hardrockminer
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1008
Rising revs when warming up on the choke are normal. But I wouldn't let it rev up to 5 grand. No need for that high a rev.

Sounds like your bike is bogging out when you try to put power to the back wheel. I don't think your exhaust setup would cause the bike to bog out but it's a good idea to replace it with something.

Some things to check...

1) is the compression OK? - could be a bad engine.