How Motorcycles Bring People Together

• Topper
  • Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
More
02 Sep 2011 16:12 #473836 by Topper
A great story about how motorcycles bring people together.

I've been expecting a luggage rack for my KZ750 that was supposed to be delivered about 10 days ago. I was starting to think it was lost. Today, the postman came up to the house which they never do out here (we're pretty rural). He had a big box for me, which sure enough turned out to be the rack I've been waiting for. It needs a little TLC, but it's just what I was expecting.

The postman told me he'd noticed I'd picked up a vintage Japanse bike, but I wasn't sure how he knew. My house (and bikes) are about a mile from the mailbox. We chatted about bikes for a few minutes. He started out on a little 70's era CB350 has since switched to Harleys and now misses his old Honda (I mean duh!). We agreed to go ride together sometime and eventually it came out how he'd figured out I started riding. Turns out when he's got down time in the mail car, he reads my vintage Japanese motorcycling magazines!

I think he spent too much time reading my magaizines and not enough time bringing me the luggage rack!

I've never had any reason to talk to my postman in the 11 years I've lived in this house. The mailboxes are so far away I never see him. I put a "tip" and a card in at the Holidays but that's about it. He just delivers the mail and usually leaves packages down by the mailboxes. He could have left this one too. I think he's been looking for an excuse to come up here and finally found one.

Anything like this ever happen to you?

Permanent and perpetual noob.

1979 KZ750 Twin
2009 Kawasaki Versys

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Sep 2011 17:12 #473860 by roy-b-boy-b
Replied by roy-b-boy-b on topic How Motorcycles Bring People Together