Silly newb questions of newb'ness

More
27 Apr 2011 11:37 #447339 by LewisKZ
Silly newb questions of newb'ness was created by LewisKZ
The sad fact is, ive been riding for 6 years, but only recently have become interested in tinkering/repairing/reading/learning about my bike. As such, i'm an inquisitive fellow and have the following general and maintenance idiot questions i'm sure someone can answer:

- When im up to speed on the highway or something and suddenly have to engine break, the KZ makes a strange whirr-whirr-whirr-whirrrrrr-whirrrrrrr sound as it slows down. My old CBR used to do this, too, so i assume it is just a motorcycle 'thing'? Whats making the noise?

- What does the park position do that the lock does not do?

- Whats the best way to clean the key cylinder? A friend told me not to use WD-40 as it can get gunky, but i need something to help the key in and out.

- I think my KZ is in great shape physically, but there are some exposed engine and chrome pieces i'd like to scrub to get to really shine/remove some rust. What cleaners are safe that you like to use?

- My engine kill switch has a setting that says lights off and lights on, i cant seem to see a difference in either, so maybe it isnt working, but i assume the lights on will let you use the headlight even though the engine is killed?

- On the right side down by my foot, thats the transmission right? So whats on the opposite side by my left foot?

Hmm, thats all i have so far, thanks guys.

---
1981 KZ440 LTD D2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Apr 2011 12:39 #447361 by Zedone
Replied by Zedone on topic Silly newb questions of newb'ness
What year & model of KZ is it Lewis? Has the bike been modified? The Z1 & KZ bikes valve trains are much louder than more modern bikes (apples & oranges difference), not sure if this is the whirr, whirr, sound your talking about. Only other thing I can think of is your cam chain may need to be adjusted.