Why do You Ride?

• Scrapper
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I Survived P.D. Fri .the 13th 2008 .
More
28 May 2008 07:24 - 28 May 2008 07:31 #216364 by Scrapper
Why do You Ride? was created by Scrapper
I was asked : "Doug," Why do you ride ? "I be scared of falling off or getting run over" , ( this has been said to me too many times to count,)
Now surfing the net , I found an answer , I think says the way I ve felt about riding since I started riding many MoOons ago
I m posting this for those who ask me WHY? and for your comments Yea, or Nah on the way you feel !
( kinda long But! says it nicely)
I ride because it is fun.

I ride because I enjoy the freedom I feel from being exposed to the elements, and the vulnerability to the danger that is intrinsic to riding.

I do not ride because it is fashionable to do so.

I ride my machine, not wear it. My machine is not a symbol of status. It exists simply for me, and me alone.

My machine is not a toy. It is an extension of my being, and I will treat it accordingly, with the same respect as I have for myself.

I strive to understand the inner-workings of my machine, from the most basic to the most complex.

I will learn everything I can about my machine, so that I am reliant upon no one but myself for its health and well being.

I strive to constantly better my skill of control over my machine. I will learn its limits, and use my skill to become one with my machine so that we may keep each other alive. I am the master, it is the servant. Working together in harmony, we will become an invincible team.

I do not fear death. I will, however, do all possible to avoid death prematurely. Fear is the enemy, not death. Fear on the highway leads to death, therefore I will not let fear be my master. I will master it.

My machines will outlive me. Therefore, they are my legacy. I will care for them for future bikers to cherish as I have cherished them, whoever they may be.