My Z1R

• Bad Kaw
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Flying Squirell
More
23 Mar 2008 16:02 - 23 Mar 2008 16:03 #201806 by Bad Kaw
My Z1R was created by Bad Kaw
So, these threads on "do you own your dream bike" and "what got you into KZs" got me thinking. I told this to Solumruss a few months back and we got a good laugh; but this is a true story on how I ended up with my Z1R and a damn good buddy, to boot.

I was a college student in the early 80s working at a hospital trying to make ends meet. There was a girl that I worked with and I'd try to impress her with my "Wanna go for a ride on my Z-1?" line (hey, she was hot, and shall we say round in all the right places). Anyway, one day she tells me more about my Z-1 than I knew, and lovingly (she was a couple years older...hey, older women, ya know!) informs me that her boyfriend/finace has a Z-1 drag-bike and a Z1R streetbike.
I was pretty stunned. First off, how does someone with boobs like that know that much about motorcycles; and WTF is this "R" on the end of a Z-1. What do I do, I can't tell her that I don't know what a Z1R is, that'd blow my 'cool'...but this is bikes, ya know, and I gotta know. Ewwwwww...girls/bikes...girls/bikes...*ugh* wtf am I gonna do?!

Well, we all know that motorcycles win out; so, I bowed-out and asked her (a girl...hot one too...*ugh*!!!) what a Z1R was. She was all chatty then, told me about Z1Rs and described it to me (smart bitch is a doctor now...who knew). I still couldn't get my mind around it; couldn't visualize it. So she says that her fiance and her are going out riding with 'the boys' that night and to just come over at 9:00 and she'd introduce me to her fiance.
This was my "in" as this group was THE group of motorcyclists to be riding with back-in-the-day; and I wanted to meet 'em, but on the cool, and not like some dork college kid who can't find his ass in closet with a flash-light. I was stoked. So, I showed up a little early, not wanting to miss the ride with 'the boys'.