Rusted Tank

More
07 Aug 2014 22:44 #643119 by Rob82750
Rusted Tank was created by Rob82750
So I started a restore of my 82 GPz KZ750R . I already have ordered por 15 fuel tank stripper and sealer. I just am not sure how to prep the tank and take out the fuel gage assembly . I have already removed the bad gas, sludge, and most of the free floating rust in the tank. This is my first project on a bike and I am not wanting to damage anything.

Attachment IMG_20140807_124016.jpg not found

'82 KZ750R
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Aug 2014 03:34 #643133 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Rusted Tank
Could use muratic acid for fast rust removal (leaves new flash rust) , followed by phosphoric acid to remove the flash rust, then rinse by sloshing with fresh gasoline (fast dumped through the open filler cap hole), and forget the sealer as the tank is then ready for action.

A quick water/soda rinse after dumping the muratic acid, and dousing with WD40, may suffice in lieu of the phosphoric acid.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
The following user(s) said Thank You: wireman, Rob82750

More
08 Aug 2014 07:05 #643141 by Mcdroid
Replied by Mcdroid on topic Rusted Tank
The fuel gauge assembly is removed from the bottom of the tank...flip the tank over, pop off the plastic oblong cover gently with a flat screwdriver. You'll see six bolts...remove these and lift the fuel gauge out of the tank. If your tank has been really rusted and sludge-filled, then the gauge is probably shot. You can attempt to clean it up (but it doesn't disassemble) and see if it might still work...if not, they are NLA from Kawasaki, at which time you become one with the eBay Force. The fuel gauge assembly is the same for the 1982 GPz1100 and GPz750. Possibly other models but not other years of GPz's. The gasket that sits beneath the fuel gauge is still available from Kawasaki.

Michael
Victoria, Texas

1982 GPz750
1977 KZ1000A
1978 KZ1000A