Newbie - Rebuild 1983 kz550?

More
12 Apr 2013 17:27 - 12 Apr 2013 17:34 #582013 by equilshift
Newbie - Rebuild 1983 kz550? was created by equilshift
Edit: If this is the wrong section of the forum, please let me know and I will move/delete.

Hi everyone, thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

I am new to motorcycling, got my licence, and I am looking for a first bike. An idea wormed into my brain, and now I can't get it out. The idea is to take an older bike and restore it, possibly with some mods if need be.

I found this bike, and now I need to know if I have gone off the deep end.

Basically, I have 1000 questions.

Is a complete strip down and rebuild an unreasonable task for someone with all the basic mechanical skills, but no motorcycle (or carb) experience?

Will this take 3 years to finish?

Is it impossible to find parts for that bike? (NB, it looks like an 81-82 to me, since it appears the rear brake is a drum brake, but it's hard for me to tell from that picture).

Is that price unreasonable? (I see that there is a big dent in the tank, and I assume I will, at minimum, need to replace/change the oil, tires, battery, headlight, spark plugs, as well as clean the carbs, tank, and chain. I would like to pay him something more like 800-1000, depending on what else I see in person).

Any other general advice?

Once again, thanks for the advice.

Fresh baked nub cakes
Last edit: 12 Apr 2013 17:34 by equilshift. Reason: Might be the wrong section

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Apr 2013 18:21 #582026 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Newbie - Rebuild 1983 kz550?
That is a 1983 KZ550A4. That motor is not as common as the 1980 A1 to 1982 A3. The motor uses TK 26 CV carbs where the earlier bikes used TK 22 slide carbs. The motor castings are similar to the 82-83 KZ550H1/H2 model GPZ motors or the KZ550M and KZ550F model motors (but these two were shaft-drive).