77/78 KZ650 resurrection

More
05 Jun 2012 23:23 #527160 by Mullineaux
77/78 KZ650 resurrection was created by Mullineaux
I'm finally almost out of the woods with this bike! I still need to get the carbs sync'ed to the bike, and have the valves checked, but it's running pretty well. A little sputtering and popping on cylinder #1 when cold, but it warms up pretty quick.

From the frame and engine numbers it's a '77 engine in a '78 frame but it's titled as a '77. I bought it in August last year. According to the PO a mechanic said it just needed new coils and it'd fire right up. Hahahaha, yeah, not funny. It's my first bike and I'm just learning to ride on it. It ran me $600 and the odo was right at 7k. From all the paperwork we found in the document compartment with the owner's manual, the bike hadn't been registered or insured since 1983. The dot number on the front tire suggested it was made in June 1985. Either way this bike had probably sat for at least 20 years.

As you can probably tell, I changed the plugs, oil, oil filter, coils, and put a battery in it. Nuthin. The starter just clicked. Lucky for me in the fall people dump parts on ebay and I put in a new one for $25-ish. Also the rear brake and rear brake linkage needed to be replaced. It'd turn over but not start.

Then I walked into mistake number 2. I took the bike to a local guy that a couple people recommended to get it running. $300 later her changed the points, airfilter, a clutch something, rebuilt the petcock, and cleaned the carbs a bit. Sure the bike ran but it was more like "undead" and hungry for brains and money.