Cafe Racer Project Time...

More
20 Aug 2011 13:24 #470315 by Parachutist
Cafe Racer Project Time... was created by Parachutist
Hello everyone! I’m new to the whole KZ Rider site so take it easy on me if I muck something up as I go along. So about two weeks ago I bought a 1979 KZ650D (13,500 on the odometer) off a buddy of mine with the intent of turning this diamond in the rough into an eye catching café racer. Interestingly enough that same week my wife and I almost bought a 07 Victory Vegas, however, something in my gut told me not to get the Victory just yet. Well a day later I happened to be talking to a buddy about the Victory I was interested in—he also knew I was new to riding motorcycles—and asked me why I just didn’t buy his “650” that he had sitting in the garage (wasn’t sure if it would start). I was somewhat curious, however, keep in mind at this point in time I had never even rode a bike much less try to fix one up. A day later I showed up at his house, fell in love with the bike, and bought it. It was such a rough looking bike, yet it had so much potential if you can just see past the old paint and envision the bike with a few select café modifications.

Attachment 79KZ650D.jpg not found