'83 KZ550 LTD M1 (Shaftie) - Café Project Kickoff

More
24 Jun 2011 21:29 #459205 by Hands_On
Hi All!

I'm new to the bike world have fallen in love with the café racer style. I bought my first bike, a '74 CB200 already caféd out (pic attached), but just got my second bike basically completely stock. It's an '83 KZ550 LTD M1. It was in pristine condition when I got saw it, so it was hard to pass up. I think the seller forreal has OCD. He said the dude HE bought it from never even rode it in the rain.

Anyways... to make it MINE...

First order of business was to remove the rack, backrest, and windshield. (pic attached)

Next order of business is to lower the bars to clubmans. Any tricks I need to know or suggestions, in general?

I really just wanna ride it and keep it as a project bike for rainy days and winter.

In the future:
- I'd like to get an interchangeable café seat for quick switches so my wife can ride two up.
- Bring the tail light and rear fender in OR remove rear fender and attach tail light to seat.
- Change blinkers
- Change out the exhaust to make some noise! (although I've heard from a coworker that this is a touchy subject with this bike. He had a friend that changed out his exhaust and had a helluva time figuring out how to make his bike perform as well as it did prior)
- Pod filters? Any suggestions/tips?
- Slowly go from there... I'm in no real rush for this project. I'm just going to enjoy the journey!

All in all, I would like to make minor changes and keep close to original, for now... in case I decide to re-sell. If I fall in love and decide to really make it my own, all bets are off.

Here we go!!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2011 21:51 #459208 by kscanuck785
Replied by kscanuck785 on topic '83 KZ550 LTD M1 (Shaftie) - Café Project Kickoff
love the 200 in yellow!

and your new bike does look in pristine condition, almost too good to mod it...lol