Hello newbie here 1979 KZ400 LTD restore (Maybe)

More
07 Aug 2010 11:34 #388960 by vader
I was given a 1979 KZ400 LTD that has sat outside for many years and it is a basket case, I have torn some of it down gearing up to pull the motor so I can get a better look at it this winter. Below are some pics of the project whether its a parts bike or a restore bike I am up for the challenge. I broke one of the spark plugs off Oh boy! I gotta get this one dealt with. I tried an easy out to no avail so its a pull her apart job, have to anyways she sat for a long time outside...

Shame they did not store it better...Well anyways take a gander and opinions are welcome, constructive or not...

Broken Spark Plug

Stripping her down so that I can pull the motor for the winter rebuild. (If its possible)

Another view of the teardown.

Opinions are welcome, whether constructive or not, have my work cutout here but I am welcoming the challenge.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• muddy1
  • User
  • 1980 Kz1000 LTD B4
More
07 Aug 2010 14:30 #389002 by muddy1
that's a parts bike at best...would be too much coin (in my opinion) to restore...Craigslist appears to be the best site for bikes these day's ....keep looking for somthing better...

Muddy1

1970 SL-70
1972 CB 750
1973 Z1
1976 YZ 125
1976 KZ400
1979 KZ400 LTD
1980 KZ1000 LTD B4
1984 YZ 490
1989 750 Ninja

More
08 Aug 2010 00:41 #389230 by Capt America
Replied by Capt America on topic Hello newbie here 1979 KZ400 LTD restore (Maybe)
Depends if you want it back to complete stock look, or you just want to clean and pretty her up again. If you want to replicate stock it might be a bit costly. If it's a clean, there are few parts you'll actually need to replace as far as I can see.