Project: DarkFury

• that chris kid
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
09 Mar 2009 13:23 #270627 by that chris kid
Project: DarkFury was created by that chris kid
Hey Guys,
I'm new here and thought this would be a great place to start. A little about me: My name is Chris (duh) I'm 24, I'm a student at ITT-Tech studying Computer/Electronics Engineering. I was a European car mechanic for the five years after high school before i got laid off due to the economy. I'm used to dealing with mostly Porsche, BMW and Mercedes and all the rest of the European brands. Motorcycles are new to me, but high performance and high revving engines are not. Well anyways, here's my project:

I decided to name her DarkFury basically because i think it sounds bad ass...and she's going to be mostly black when I'm done.
It's an 82' KZ750-N1 (spectre) that i bought from a buddy i used to work with at Loomis (armored car company). I got it for a measly $300. He really didn't know what he was doing and was sick of it. when i bought it, it was not ridable or even running. Needless to say i got it home and had it running within about 2 hours. here are a few pictures after i pieced it together. It was pretty rough looking.

for some reason he thought it was a good idea to paint the tank and other parts with regular blue household spray paint. he even painted the header and exhaust. I can only imagine how much smoke was in his garage after he fired the thing up. haha.

The first thing i did was strip the tank. it was a mess. I think i counted about 5 different colors, including primer i assume.

And so started the transformation to Black.

I sanded and repainted the pipe. there was too much rust damage to try to shine it up so i coated it with some VHT high temp ceramic.