Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

I'm a new member just saying hello! 21 Nov 2006 07:18 #93709

• gmbiowa
  • gmbiowa's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Dear KZR members, I was fortunate to find your web site and joined immediately. Although I am not new to motorcycles, I am new to Kawasaki. I recently bought a non-running 1981 KZ750 with only 9,500 miles. A local farmer had it stored in the back of his shop and wanted it. He said that it was running a few years ago. I got it for a good price. Except for lots of dust and dirt, the bike is in very good shape. The tab that controls the lights (on/off) is missing, and it has a 4 into 1 exhaust system (I do not believe this came stock on this bike). Off course it does not start, and the battery is dead. I intend to go to the appropriate forums to ask about getting the bike running. But, I thought I would through these questions out here. 1)Do all the KZ750 H have parts that fit each other so I can find a light switch? 2) Are the 4 to 1 exhaust stock? 3) After I get a new battery, what would be the first thing to check to get the bike fired up? Thanks for your time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I'm a new member just saying hello! 21 Nov 2006 07:29 #93714

• Mcdroid
  • User
  • Gone Kwackers
  • Thank you received: 303
Welcome gmbiowa! Others will weigh-in to welcome and have various bits of advice...but the first thing I'd do is buy a shop manual...official kawasaki shop manuals are still available on eBay (reasonably priced) or you could buy one of several after-market types (also off eBay)(also inexpensive). These manuals will give you fairly explicit how-to instructions on virtually anything you might have to tackle with the bike. :)
Michael
Alvin, Texas

1982 GPz750
1977 KZ1000A
1978 KZ1000A
1982 GPz1100
1975 Z2A

I'm a new member just saying hello! 21 Nov 2006 07:48 #93719

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207