New rider, new bike

More
13 Jun 2024 13:31 - 13 Jun 2024 14:02 #900672 by RatRod1980
New rider, new bike was created by RatRod1980
Hi everybody! This is my first bike and I'm fairly new to street riding. I've got experience riding dirt bikes in my youth so I'm not averse to kick starting and counter steering (or bumps for that matter). I recently acquired a 1980 KZ650 rat bike off Craigslist. It's super dope but I'm having issues due wiring among other things. It's a custom job and is super fun to ride but right now it won't start. The rectifier grounded out a few weeks ago so I just rewired the wires together after they burned apart. Now it won't start (though it did after the fix but slowly has grown trouble starting). The battery rests at 12.90 volts but drops to around 9 when I hit the starter. So I'm sure my wiring job was the problem. I'm going to have an engineer neighbor look at it when I can but if anyone here is an electrician and can help me out, that'd be great!! Thanks!
  • Last edit: 13 Jun 2024 14:02 by Street Fighter LTD.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Street Fighter LTD
    • TURBO, Its Better to be Blown than Injected
    More
    13 Jun 2024 14:03 #900673 by Street Fighter LTD
    Replied by Street Fighter LTD on topic New rider, new bike
    Welcome to KZRider 
    Next time click the insert all tab to complete your picture installation 
    I fixed it for you this time 
    Dave

Original owner 78 1000 LTD
    Mr Turbo Race Kit, MTC 1075 Turbo pistons by PitStop Performance , Falicon Ultra Lite Super Crank, APE everything. Les Holt @ PDM's Billet Goodies . Frame by Chuck Kurzawa @ Logghe Chassis . Deep sump 5qt oil pan. RIP Bill Hahn
    The following user(s) said Thank You: RatRod1980

• Wookie58
    • Away
    More
    13 Jun 2024 14:35 #900678 by Wookie58
    The following user(s) said Thank You: RatRod1980

• Scirocco
    • Premium Member
    • Never change a running system
    More