• Page:

TOPIC:

Hello from Texas! 24 Apr 2021 21:40 #847388

• Antrax1
  • Antrax1's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi KZ Community!

I purchased my very first motorcycle which also happens to be a project bike. It's a 1981 Kawasaki KZ440A LTD. I purchased the bike from a friend who was willing to sell it at a price I could afford ($250). The previous owner said 'he had this bike sitting outdoors for 4 years and he only got the chance to ride it a couple of times before it stopped turning on. He didn't have the time or knowledge to work on it, overpaid for it ($800), and didn't want to spend any more money on it.' I have basic vehicle mechanic knowledge as I have done repairs on my car but I'm figuring things out as I go on this bike. I bought it not running and not turning on so I truly didn't know what I was dealing with. The first thing I did was: Charge the battery, new spark plugs, new oil/oil filter. What I have discovered: Battery needs to be replaced. I thought it was the starter solenoid prior but I realized the battery is just bad. I have jump-started the bike with my car turned off and realized the start solenoid is good but it's not getting a spark. I used a spark plug tester and both spark plugs seem to get a spark. Here is where I get confused, am I looking at something like an ignition coil or wiring? I'm hoping it isn't wiring as it's way outside of my realm of knowledge. The bike isn't the nicest but once I get it running I am going to work on the body. Also, I would really appreciate feedback and advice! 
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hello from Texas! 28 Apr 2021 18:34 #847653

• rstnick
  • User
  • Thank you received: 373
Welcome.
Your getting spark on both plugs, that is a good start.
Check the fuses, clean and or replace if necessary.

Rob
CANADA

Need a key for your Kawasaki? PM me