New 1982 kz1100 owner

• ssugi09
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
08 May 2018 19:31 #783104 by ssugi09
New 1982 kz1100 owner was created by ssugi09
Hello!

I just purchased a 1982 KZ1100 and honestly I love it already. I am not very mechanically inclined but I really do want to do a few small things on my new-old bike. I have researched a ton (at least it seemed like it), but I just find it all a little overwhelming considering I have little to no experience with motorcycles. The first thing I wanted to do was replace the ignition switch. It seems the previous owner replaced the key switch but they replaced it with one that is too wide to fit back into the housing. I guess how do I know which part exactly to get that will fit. Are there any resources that I could find/use that are extremely dumbed down?

Thanks!

Shayna

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2018 21:59 #783394 by azman857
Replied by azman857 on topic New 1982 kz1100 owner
If this is your first bike, may I suggest you take a rider's safety class. I would also suggest a smaller, throw away bike to get used to riding. Like a Honda Rebel or a KZ 305. It's very easy to go 0 to OH SHIT!! in .02 sec. Welcome to motorcycle riding an KZR.

I don't have a plan and I'm sticken' to it! '77 KZ 650 / 750 GPz custom project in progress

More
15 May 2018 06:19 - 15 May 2018 06:22 #783399 by TexasKZ
Replied by TexasKZ on topic New 1982 kz1100 owner
Welcome, Shayna!

If you are new to riding, I second what azman867 said.

An amazing number of parts are still available at your local Kawasaki dealership, though some are more helpful than others. Z1Enterprises, an advertiser on this site, is a very good source of parts, too.