Welp.. a short intro of myself.

More
27 Sep 2017 13:32 - 28 Sep 2017 19:32 #771889 by old_kaw
Welp.. a short intro of myself. was created by old_kaw
I just wanted to introduce myself a little and share a little of my experience and formal training..
I was a US Army mechanic from 1972-1975 when I ETS'd out of Fort Dix NJ.. from there I took a 2 year course majoring in auto mechanics using my GI bill for tuition. The military was probably the best thing I did for my self in my life.. what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, ya know. :-) While in the Army, I bought a brand new 1974 Harley Davidson XLH 1000 off the showroom floor in Albert Lea MN. What a POS.. I took off on this brand new bike, and it wasn't 500 miles before it started puking oil out of the rear cylinder.. it seems the morton putting the wrist pin keepers in the pistons just didn't give a sh!t enough about his job to do it properly, and the rear jug was scored badly by the time I limped this bike home. Like I said, what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger. Did I mention this is / was a POS? Funny how one idiot doing a one little shitty job can almost put a company out of business.. This was an AMF machine.. so this was during their reprieve they had just been given to survive.. well.. enough on the Harley, EXCEPT this was also during the time of the Z1's and H2's, Mach III's etc.. all of them would just zing past me and my bitch a$$ Harley. lol I test rode a few new triple Kaws and all I really remember was that I had trouble keeping the front wheel on the ground.