Freshie

• Kz250 enthusiast
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
03 Dec 2016 03:02 #749333 by Kz250 enthusiast
Freshie was created by Kz250 enthusiast
Hey guys, I just bought a 1984 kz250w ltd. I don't think it needs to much done to it to get it on road. I'm pretty new to riding and what not so I will be posting plenty of questions about it. Cheers here's a photo
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Dec 2016 09:38 #749349 by TexasKZ
Replied by TexasKZ on topic Freshie
Welcome aboard!
It looks like a previous owner spent some time modifying your LTD. I hope he or she knew how to do things properly, though the missing air filter box suggests otherwise. I hope you got that very important part, as getting a 250 with a constant velocity carb to run right without one borders on the impossible. There have been a couple of recent attempts by board members. Give the search box a workout and see what you can come up with.
In the mean time, there are a couple of very important tools you will need.
1. A genuine Kawasaki factory service manual for your specific year and model. An aftermarket manual like Clymer or Haynes is better than nothing, but no substitute for the real thing.
2. A set of JIS cross head screwdrivers, or suitably modified Phillips drivers. Those likely buggered up cross head screws all over your bike are not Phillips screws. Too many people try to use the wrong tool and wreck the heads. Z1Enterprises ( a vendor on this forum) and other fine tool sellers can fix you up with them.
3. Yes, I said a couple. Like previous owners, I lied. Seriously search this site for help with your questions. Ask many questions. Post pictures.