New KZ750 Owner From Denver

More
20 Mar 2016 22:58 #716465 by ezweave
New KZ750 Owner From Denver was created by ezweave
Howdy all!

I like long walks on the beach and Kenny G, I'm a Cancer and my favorite drink is a cosmo.

Jokes aside, I am new to motorcycles and new to Kawasakis. Google lead me here. I just picked up an 82 KZ750 LTD, which is begging for a little bit of work. Part of me wants to leave it stock, but she's so damn heavy and I'm so damn small that I'll probably end up doing something cafe-ish.

Attachment Kz750.jpeg not found

It seems to run pretty well, the oil light comes on sometimes, but the level looks fine. The bars are stupid. Even the review of the bike I found archived from Cycle World complained about the bar choice. So as soon as I figure out a solution for the bar mounted turn signals, I'm going to put something like Biltwell Maynard's on. I may end up having to cut/replace the throttle and clutch cable, brake lines, etc. I'm okay with that kind of work. Most of my free time is spent training and racing road, XC MTB, and CX bikes and I've worked on em for years. To wit, I'm familiar with bleeding brakes (cars and MTB though), cutting cable housing, etc.

Sadly, I live in a high rise and just have a parking garage, but fortunately I have a buddy with a garage who is down to help me get dirty. I have the shop manual, which came with the bike. This model was suggested to me by one of the most knowledgeable motorcycle guys I know (he lives in Phoenix, but we chat from time to time). I wanted a 250, but he said I'd get bored and should just get tough and get used to a bigger bike, lol. Also, he said this bike was easier to get parts for. I've seen a few cafe projects with this model ( this guy actually lives near here, so I may ping him).