New member from NH

More
30 Oct 2015 04:03 - 30 Oct 2015 04:33 #696509 by RayJM
New member from NH was created by RayJM
Hi everyone my name is Ray and I'm looking to pick up my first "project". Im planning on checking out a 1980 kz440 tomorrow with the help of a friend that is more knowledgeable then me. I am as new as it gets in terms of working on a bike but I am pretty resourceful with my hands and pick up things rather quickly. Luckily whether its the kz or another bike I've got some friends that a very knowledgeable in regards to fixing up bikes. Plus where I will be storing/working on the bike at a buddies house who is restoring an old yamaha so I should have someone to fall back on should I get stuck. The bike in question is currently not running. The PO rode it this summer and claims that the engine seized up while tuning the carbs. The price seems reasonable and from the pics it looks like its in pretty good shape(just pics though). My plan is try and get her running this winter to have something to ride come spring. Once its running ill update more of the aesthetics, plus I should have a better knowledge base when that time comes. I understand how an engine works however I am always looking for more info, most things after a quick google are just a basic explanation of how a motorcycle engine works. Ive been here obviously and have checked out z400.com my problem is a lot of you guys here are far more advanced than I so a lot of your threads seem a bit foreign to me. So after this long winded post I guess my question is does anyone have any good sites or videos to check out for basic diagnosis for issues. The PO for this bike that I hope to grab hasn't bothered to pull it apart and see if they know whats up so it could be anything from getting some penetrating oil in there and cleaning things up all the way to some major engine work. I appreciate your time checking my thread out and hopefully Ill be a fairly active member here and get some updates up. Ill