KZ1000 running rough and misfiring

More
10 Sep 2014 09:00 #647010 by woodman260
KZ1000 running rough and misfiring was created by woodman260
I just bought a 1977 KZ1000 and it ran great on the drive home. The guy I bought it from just had the carbs re-jetted. Now the carbs are leaking and the bike is running rough and misfiring. The spark plugs are fouled with black sooty carbon. I put new plugs in and it ran great, only for a day or so. Checked the plugs and they were fouled again. I`m thinking the points or condensers are bad or the carbs are running rich. I am a novice to motorcycle mechanics so I need some help. And also not alot of cash since I just bought the bike. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Sep 2014 10:08 #647019 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic KZ1000 running rough and misfiring
Did you ask why he had it re-jetted? Does it have the stock air box and air filter? I suggest you get the Kawasaki Service Manual and perform a full tune-up. Don't expect a previous owner to have taken care of the bike at all. If you do a full tune-up and perform all the normal maintenance described in the manual you will set a base-line from which to work. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
10 Sep 2014 10:24 #647023 by woodman260
Replied by woodman260 on topic KZ1000 running rough and misfiring
Thanks for the advice. I have a Clymer repair manual that came with the bike. He didn`t tell me why it was re-jetted. (and I didn`t know any better to ask)The air filters are the pod type ones, not stock. I looked at the manual and I think I will start by cleaning the points and setting the gap and timing. The previous owner did mention that his mechanic did suggest a new electronic ignition.

More
10 Sep 2014 10:37 #647025 by Grnole
Replied by Grnole on topic KZ1000 running rough and misfiring