The new guy from Washington.

More
15 Jun 2014 02:35 #636691 by alexv860
The new guy from Washington. was created by alexv860
Greetings!

I just picked up an 81 kz550. The guy i got it from had already started work to make a chopper out of it, so it came with a nice set of Z bars, a rear fender blank, and a few other misc parts. He also started building a custom wiring harness with all the BS removed. First I plan to finish what he started with that, and then maybe paint and a few other quick upgrades before i get it back on the road. Here in Washington we have a pretty short riding season, and once its over, you get to stare at your bike for 9 months. During that time I'd like to customize and/or upgrade everything I can. I have been building hot rods since I was in high school, but I'm new to motorcycle performance work, so any tips or upgrade suggestions would be extremely appreciated.

1983 kz550 Spectre F1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jun 2014 06:38 #636706 by ed spangler
Replied by ed spangler on topic The new guy from Washington.

alexv860 wrote: Greetings!

I just picked up an 81 kz550. The guy i got it from had already started work to make a chopper out of it, so it came with a nice set of Z bars, a rear fender blank, and a few other misc parts. He also started building a custom wiring harness with all the BS removed. First I plan to finish what he started with that, and then maybe paint and a few other quick upgrades before i get it back on the road. Here in Washington we have a pretty short riding season, and once its over, you get to stare at your bike for 9 months. During that time I'd like to customize and/or upgrade everything I can. I have been building hot rods since I was in high school, but I'm new to motorcycle performance work, so any tips or upgrade suggestions would be extremely appreciated.

Welcome from East Tennessee!!
Awesome sounding project!!
Looking forward to pics and progress reports!!
Regards