Hello from Colorado

More
04 Aug 2013 02:27 #599780 by Shdwdrgn
Hello from Colorado was created by Shdwdrgn
I guess I've been hitting the other forums hard enough, I should probably introduce myself! :laugh: My first (and still current) bike was a 1981 Yamaha 650 special, although there doesn't seem to be anything 'special' about it. I saw it on my way home from work one day, had my dad take a look for me, and picked it up for $650. Not too bad for something I've been riding for 23 years now.

The only other bike I've had my hands on was a Kawasaki 400 with a 6-speed. It was given to me without a gas tank or any spark plugs, after sitting out in the rain for many years. After filling the cylinders with WD-40 and letting it sit overnight, we got it to turn over. Some more work on the points, finding a replacement tank, and generally cleaning it up, and my god was that ever a smooth running engine! I should have hung on to it, but ended up selling it a few years later.

So my Yamaha is running rougher every year, and I don't see the point of trying to salvage it, so in the past few years I've been dreaming about building a new bike from the ground up. Recently someone I know online told me about the Z900's, but a quick check clued me in that this was going to be nearly impossible to find. A bit more reading and I learned of the KZ1000's, which appear to be a lot more common. I don't mind 'common' as long as I can build it the way I want it. So after watching Cragislist, I came across one that had been sitting for a month with no sale, grabbed a trailer and went down to make a deal. We settled on $500, and considering the problems Ive run into already, I'm glad I didn't pay any more. She's got issues, but I've got a bigger hammer!