New Member, Seasoned Rider, New pipe Dream haha

• JaysKawaZ1000
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
13 Jul 2012 15:28 #535686 by JaysKawaZ1000
Hi, my name is Jay, I'm 28 yrs old and ive been riding bikes since i was 9 and on the street for about 9 years. Ive had a few Z1000's, couple SRAD's and a couple older bikes. I joined up becuase i have a new interest--- Normally i build cars (engine/tranny swap into older cars such as LS motors, 6 speeds, big firebird fan) but now I'd like to try something new. My options this summer were one of 2, 1) go be lazy and buy a new or newish ZX14 and call it a day ---or--- 2) build a cafe racer from an old Kawi. I have chosen #2 and this is what id like to do:

Tomorrow im going to pick up a 79 KZ 750 twin, bikes all there, price is $375, my ideas for this bike are, front fork swap to latest style (zx6?), swing arm swap (zx6?), a mono cafe style fiber glass seat, mono rear shock (zx6? R6?) and... this is the most important one of all, remove and replace the 750 twin with either an 05+ 750cc FI or 1000cc FI engine, ZX10 perhaps? Now i did alittle research on here before i became a member and i am familiar with what needs to be done concerning structural integrity of the frame, my friend and i have an a pretty decent shop and we both weld, i have a few questions in mind about the engine/tranny swap

Are there any major mods needed that would negate this swap, making it a complete waste of time? Should i try a 600cc FI engine instead? Questions for me? Comments?

Thanks,

Jay

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jul 2012 17:21 #535708 by 650ed