New guy from Fargo- just picked up a '77 KZ650

More
26 Jun 2012 17:24 #531941 by DeFi
Hi everyone,

I've been riding for about 12 years and have owned several bikes over the years, old and new. I've been lurking this site for a bit while keeping my eye out for KZ, which I've always wanted. Well, I finally found one after a couple months of searching, recently selling my '07 Suzuki SV650S, which I loved and highly recommend. I picked up '77 KZ650 and an extra gas tank for $650, its got about 10,600 miles on it. The frame number is KZ650B-007143 and the engine is 007570. It runs great, most of the chrome is still in very good condition, though I did notice a small amount of rust forming inside the gas tank. The gas tank they gave me is perfectly clean, but not the right year. The tank on the bike was sanded, primed and rattle canned by the previous owner, to prevent rust as they said. Its not a perfect tank that is dented, weird dents, long one's like it was leaned up against something, probably going to have to get a different tank. I bought this with the intention of doing a 'rider' restoration, I'd like to bring it back to a clean, nice looking everyday rider and keep it relatively original.

I'm not going to pretend I'm something that I'm not. I'm kind of a rookie when it comes to motorcycle mechanics, I've always done the lite work on my previous cycles, but never really dug into anything serious. But I'm eager to learn, I'm a product engineer and write standard operating procedures for software all day, so I'm good at directions. So, please excuse the stupid boneheaded directions I'll probably throw at you guys.

Can anyone identify this gas tank? Would it fit my bike? I know its not the original, but its a cool looking tank.

Any advice on things to do first? I'm also trying to save for a down payment on a house, so I want to keep things cheap for the time being.