• fizzer_$tfighter
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • YAMASAWKI MAN
More
07 Feb 2012 10:56 #502530 by fizzer_$tfighter
82 KZ 1000 "Eleanor" from the STEEL CITY was created by fizzer_$tfighter
Hey guys,
Im Rob, from pittsburgh. I've been riding for about 3 years, i have 2 Yamaha FZR 600's(projects-1's streetfighter and the other trackbike), and now the KZ.
As of Dec 31st 2011 i am the owner of my first 82 Kawasawki KZ 1000,J model, full Kerker 4:1, Carbs Built/Jetted (for the Kerker) by Old School Carbs. <(anybody know anything about these guys? PO says they are good...)
i bought it for a little over $1000 USD, with 11k+ on it. While "Eleanor" is quite clean, she has a few problems/issues i need to resolve. NOTE:I've put over 1200 miles on her since New Years thanks to the mild winter and my determination to ride the tits off of her!

Things I need to do:
-Valve gasket needs replaced
-Fork seals (can you get dust seals for this model? havent been able to find a # for that part)
-Brake light needs re-rewired to fix PO's birds nest
-Front master cylinder rebuild (currently have almost no front brakes/pressure)
-PO also put a Z tail on, need to put the KZ rear fender back on.

Things i want to do:
-LED turn signals
-Replace brake light
-Drag bars
-Bar end mirrors
-Bigger rear tire(and swingarm i guess????)
-Repaint the frame, tank, tail black with kawa green and forest green pin striping

Im not interested in modding this bike to much. I pretty much like her the way she sits. I am interested in a wider rear which ill have to do some searching around here to find out what's feasible for me and my wallet. Also interested in uprgrading some suspension, and maybe to an HID headlight.

Well thats all for now thanks....

82 KZ 1000 J Model

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
07 Feb 2012 11:12 #502535 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic 82 KZ 1000 "Eleanor" from the STEEL CITY