A new old member with questions

More
07 Oct 2011 19:02 #481910 by grampa
A new old member with questions was created by grampa
Hi,

I'm a new member and a new owner of a 1984 KZ550 F2 LTD, and I'm way older than the new bike. To tell the truth, my kids are way older than the bike! And it has only 6700 miles on it!

This looks like a great forum, and I'm glad to be joining it.

It's been decades since I last rode, and even then I only rode a few times. So I'm basically a newbie again, but a little more fragile than the first time around.

Anyhow, I've already got questions about the bike. Any help would be appreciated:

How can I get an owner's manual, either the real thing or a PDF? I've downloaded a PDF of the repair and maintenance manual, but that's a few hundred detailed pages. I just want the smaller owners manual that tells you where the controls are, how to start the bike, simple routine maintenance, etc.

The mechanic who set it up in the shop I bought it from says the motor is in great shape. After it warmed up, it ran fairly smoothly and drove and handled well. However, I asked the shop to replace the smashed right rear directional light and the rear tire before I pay the balance. The starter switch turns to ON and to KILL, but not to START. This same mechanic had already installed a switch on the left cover that kicks the starter motor if the key is in. Should I try to buy another starter switch and go back to the original setup, or just keep using the weird setup that he installed?

Should I take this bike to my local bike shop - a really good, honest mechanic - after I pick it up next week, and ask my local guy to check it out again? What would I ask him to look at?

Are there some simple things I should check out myself before I start riding it?

What is the most important maintenance I need to do? We have long, cold, winters up here in NH and I think the bike will be sitting in the garage for at least 6 months every winter.