Completely new.

More
19 Aug 2011 04:25 #469974 by Enna
Completely new. was created by Enna
I'm very new to the whole motorcycle game, although my old man is very helpful in this area. I've been lurking around for the past couple weeks and trying to find an answer to my question, but with no avail as of yet.

I am looking at picking up a KZ1000P, enough said I'm sure. Personally I like the minimal fairing that comes on the older 70's KZ bikes, and would like to be striping it down as such. I am curious what work, if any that is more than just swapping parts, would be required to mimic appearance wise of a Z1?

I would be doing a lot of other work on said bike, but this is something that I haven't found any answers about. If I missed it on the 17 pages of search results that this site popped up with, then if someone could guide me in that direction I would be thankful. I am looking forward to any and all help that could be given.

Thank you.

I've also attached a picture of what I am referring to fairing wise, and one that I think is gorgeous.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• testarossa
  • User
  • Attack life, it's only trying to kill you.
More
19 Aug 2011 10:10 #470000 by testarossa
Replied by testarossa on topic Completely new.
Hi Enna. Welcome to KZR. The KZ1000P is a very good bike with lots of parts support since it was made long after all other KZ1000's stopped being produced. Up until 2002 if my memory serves me. Anyway, it would not necessarily be easy to make a police bike look like a Z1. If you have lots of mechanical skills, time and money anything can be accomplished. Also, for the record, the Z1 that you pictured is far from stock.