New member with an old bike...and a vacuum hose ?

More
19 Feb 2011 08:12 #431750 by ericsxp
I am very new to the world of biking but have wanted one for quite some time. I ended up getting a 1980 Kawasaki KZ750 for cheap. Unfortunately all of the carb and gas tank hoses were off the bike when I got it. It does have a petcock with the vacuum line. I blocked off the #3 carb vacuum line, ran the #2 line to the vacuum inlet on the petcock, and tee'd the #1 and #4 which I think is correct. The only problem I am having is where to run the 1 and 4 tee'd hose. Does it go to the inlet under the airbox? Or someplace else? I haven't been able to find any diagrams that show how these hook up. Any help will be appreciated and I'm sure I will be visiting here often while I get this motorcycle up and running correctly. Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2011 10:07 - 19 Feb 2011 10:08 #431773 by Patton
ericsxp wrote:

I am very new to the world of biking but have wanted one for quite some time. I ended up getting a 1980 Kawasaki KZ750 for cheap. Unfortunately all of the carb and gas tank hoses were off the bike when I got it. It does have a petcock with the vacuum line. I blocked off the #3 carb vacuum line, ran the #2 line to the vacuum inlet on the petcock, and tee'd the #1 and #4 which I think is correct. The only problem I am having is where to run the 1 and 4 tee'd hose. Does it go to the inlet under the airbox? Or someplace else? I haven't been able to find any diagrams that show how these hook up. Any help will be appreciated and I'm sure I will be visiting here often while I get this motorcycle up and running correctly. Thanks in advance.

Hello, Eric, and WELCOME to KZr! :cheer:

All of the carb vacuum nipples should be capped, except the one supplying vacuum to the petcock.

On bikes still fitted with functional EPA air injection paraphernalia, vacuum nipples are also used in that application.