16yr old with kz440.

More
02 Jul 2010 10:07 #379658 by MasonHart
16yr old with kz440. was created by MasonHart
Hey guys, I found this forum when i was searching for a source that will help me later on. I am 16. I am new to street bikes but not motorcycles. I rode dirt for a while but then traded my dirt bike for my '65 Corvair. I am working more now so i saved and am buying a 1980 kz440. We will be picking it up early Sunday morning.

The bike only has 2800 original miles, brand new tires, and is almost perfect mechanically speaking. It is the chain drive model, not belt. I attached the pictures from the add and will post up more once i have the bike back home.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2010 10:35 #379664 by cobura
Replied by cobura on topic 16yr old with kz440.
welcome to the forum! Thats a great bike for a starter or for a long time rider! Any plans for customizing? By the way, don't worry, those bikes were never offered in belt drive thank god :laugh:

1979 KZ650B3

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
02 Jul 2010 13:57 #379711 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic 16yr old with kz440.
That should be a great bike to get out on. Sprockets are nice because its so easy/ cheap to replace/ regear. The belt drive that was available in your year was also popular, but I don't know how many optional ratio's would be out there. Good to see the younger guys keep the older bikes on the road.

1982 KZ1000LTD K2 Vance & Hines 4-1 ACCEL COILS Added Vetter fairing & Bags. FOX Racing rear Shocks, Braced Swing-arm, Fork Brace, Progressive Fork Springs RT Gold Emulators, APE Valve Springs, 1166 Big Bore kit, RS34's, GPZ cams.
1980 KZ550LTD C1 Stock SOLD Miss it
1979 MAZDA RX7 in the works, 13B...

More
02 Jul 2010 14:19 #379721 by Link14
Replied by Link14 on topic 16yr old with kz440.