Total Newb Introducing Himself.

More
28 Nov 2008 00:08 #249695 by mervschmaed
Total Newb Introducing Himself. was created by mervschmaed
First off: good god, this website is amazing. I randomly stumbled upon it a couple weeks ago and damn, you guys are all badass.

Me: I've been riding since May after taking the local Rider Safety Course. I can't believe I waited so long to start; riding a bike feels like one of the most natural things I've ever done. Though who doesn't think that when they're riding? I bought my bike thinking I could use it in the micro-budget film that I'm producing but it's had so many issues that it never seems to be running when we're shooting bike scenes. But that's okay, I've always wanted to learn to ride and the film was the best way to rationalize to myself spending the money on a bike. Now I get to do the two things that I've wanted to do all my life: make movies and ride a motorcycle. (We're all still 8 year old kids really, no matter how big we get...)

My Bike: A beat-up, unloved 1980 KZ1000 LTD that's been sold one too many times. I've been told that the 1000s aren't really great bikes to start riding on, but we seem to fit well together. But who doesn't think that about their first motorcycle or car? (My first car was a POS '85 T-Bird and I loved that thing.) It's a beater that hasn't had a good home for a long time; the last owner stored it in a barn for almost a decade with no attention at all. The owner before that messed with the jetting so much that I've had to pay a fair amount to my local mechanic just to get it running properly. (Now that I think about it, that's probably why it sat in a barn for so long...) I can't seem to wrap my head around engines or mechanical details, but there's always time to learn.