Newbie with a 80 KZ750G - hoping to learn tons!

More
27 Nov 2008 16:51 #249643 by KTM Mike
Hey guys - I am a newbie here. Just bought a 1980 KZ750G LTD (twin). It is a rather rough and butt ugly non-runner right now - but my hope is to get it back on the road and looking fine! It appears to be pretty much complete and stock overall.

A bit of my background - I am no newbie to bikes - been riding street and dirt for 34 years (yikes...that makes me feel really old now!) I have logged around 300,000 miles on the street. Did 12 years as a MSF instructor. Some of my favorite street rides were a Kawasaki Concours I put 100,000 miles on (50,000 of that with a sidehack attached!), and Honda VFR750 I put 50,000 miles on. I got out of street bikes about 5 years ago, as I was getting into off road racing quite a bit. I race AMA enduros here in Michigan.

Somewhere in there I got into restoring and riding vintage off road bikes - did several, then got out of that (the racing left no time or money to mess with that), except I have kept my favorite vintage off road bike - a 1976 Penton Cross Country 250 that I ride regularly, and have even done a couple enduros on.

One of my two sons decided he wanted a street bike last summer - though he would not be legal to ride it on road until this coming spring (he turns 16). So he ended up buying a 78 Honda CX500 project bike for us to work on. Then, I stumbled across this KZ750 last weekend. It is rather rough, but I have restored bikes much worse looking into looking brand spanking new. My thought was I wanted to have a bike so I can ride with him when he is starting out - it would ease me back into the street, get my wife hooked again on riding with me (she always loved the big bike trips we did), and next thing I know, I will end up with a new Concours 14 in the garage. (I can dream right?)