Newbie here!

More
07 Aug 2008 20:36 #230764 by ghunt81
Newbie here! was created by ghunt81
Hey everyone!

I'm new to motorcycles and new to these old Kawasakis.

I actually completed my MSF course a couple weeks ago and have been looking for a good cheap starter bike.

A guy I work with told me he saw an old Kawasaki at a local used car place, so I stopped and talked to the guy- '78 Kawasaki KZ750 Twin with 17K on the ticker. Took it for a little test drive, came back and talked to the guy, and ended up buying it for $1400 :)

It's a pretty neat old bike, has some character, but I sure don't know much about it. What are common problem areas on these things?

Also where can I look to find out what parts interchange with newer models (such as seats, exhaust, etc)?

BTW- here's a couple pics!

1978 Kawasaki KZ750 Twin- Coil mod, Dyna coil, 7mm copper core wires

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Aug 2008 20:41 - 07 Aug 2008 20:47 #230766 by bill_wilcox100
Replied by bill_wilcox100 on topic Newbie here!
Wow! That looks like a really nice, clean and stock bike. If it works well just, keep the oil level right, put in regular gas, oil the chain and enjoy a great riding season. :woohoo:

If you think you need some parts you can try here for good prices and great delivery:

www.z1enterprises.com/catalog.aspx?pid=KZ750-B3-1978

Best of success! :)

PS
Could you add your location to your signature... it's considered friendly.

1977 KZ650-B1 (Stock)
Upgrades:
- Dyna S Electronic Ignition (DS2-2)
- Dyna 3 Ohm Coils (DC1-1)
- Coil Repowering Mod
- Progressive Springs Front & Rear
- Saddlemen Seat Cover
- New Metallic Red Re-Paint & Repro Badges.
Montreal, Canada
Last edit: 07 Aug 2008 20:47 by bill_wilcox100.

More
07 Aug 2008 23:29 #230782 by donthekawguy
Replied by donthekawguy on topic Newbie here!