Helllo everyone

• Shiska
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I'm restoring my dad's 1977 kz650. Wish me luck!
More
26 Jun 2007 13:58 #152906 by Shiska
Helllo everyone was created by Shiska
I just wanted to introduce myself. I am 17 live in Manitoba and have just recently (today actually) been given a 1977 kz650. She's been sitting in my dads shop all alone for 10 years and she is in rough shape but i hope to have her running by September 07 although a more likely target is May 08. I'm a total newb when it comes to engines and such but hopefully with all of your help i'l be able to get her going.

With that out of the way does anyone have some tips on where to start for this project? What are likely problems? what kind of costs may/will be involved?

Thats about it for me. Thanks for any input.

1977 KZ650 -- In pieces

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jun 2007 15:49 #152924 by aarons80kz650
Replied by aarons80kz650 on topic Helllo everyone
Hi, I'm new here too but welcome.

As for where to start, hard to say without seeing it. I would clean everything first, you can't fix what you can't see. Plus cleaning it makes you get familiar with it. Check to see if it will turn over, so you know its not seized up. Check the tank for rust, don't want that to get into the carbs. Get rid of any old gas if there is any in the tank. Change the oil and filter. Put in a new battery. Check your tires, rubber gets bad with age. After all that Is when I get excited and dump gas in and see what happens. What happens could point you in the right direction for further mainenance or you may be pleasantly suprised. Good chance the carbs will need cleaned. Others with more experience will probably have better guidance on that than I do. Can you tell us more about the bike?

Happy wrenching and riding!

More
26 Jun 2007 16:05 #152928 by ltdrider
Replied by ltdrider on topic Helllo everyone
Welcome, Shiska!