Should I Buy It?

More
06 Jun 2007 07:23 #146832 by fishybass
Should I Buy It? was created by fishybass
Hi Guys and Gals,

I am considering investing $100 in a 1980 KZ 550 A1. It would be my first bike.
I want your advice… should I buy it?
In general it is in beautiful shape, everything original, except for an inline fuel filter that was added after the tank, because the carbs were always clogging. I trust the seller.
It has been garaged most of it’s life, dumped once by a newbie with only minor scratches on the tank (will probably be dumped again by me). It is beautiful. Has about 24000 miles on it. Turns over nicely, sounds good when turning over. No electrical issues. I am a pretty good car mechanic, but have not worked on bikes. But, I want to work on bikes, and am sure I would enjoy it. Nonetheless, I don't have a lot of money (maybe $500) to put into this bike.

Here are the things that I know I will be doing soon, if I buy it...
New tires
Carbs cleaned
Oh, there are these 2” rubber hoses that run from the airbox to the carbs… they are all cracked up… does anyone how what these are called so I can get replacement parts?
Good overall general tune-up

Now for the mystery…
I have not heard it… but the seller states that he stopped driving it when a tinking sound popped up by the transmission/engine. It only makes this tinking sound while it is moving. But at this point it still seems to drive okay. He is not sure what it is… and that noise is why he is selling it for so cheap… cause he knows I will be putting money into it (and his wife wants him to sell it because it is just taking up space in the garage). He has not had the time to work on it, but he did take a look at the cam tensioner and that was fine.

These things immediately makes me think transmission or clutch. It sounds like clutch fixes are relatively easy… how are transmissions?