• Page:

TOPIC:

First build - 1982 KZ1000 Police 12 Oct 2016 11:08 #745050

• MDSBLCK
  • MDSBLCK's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi everyone,

Lots of first for me these days - first Kawasaki, first time attempting to build/modify a bike, first time posting on this awesome KZ forum. So be gentle, I'm a newbie. I've already learned so much and gotten so much inspiration from reading about other user's builds, so I wanted to start a thread about my own project, both to sorta keep track of it for myself, to hopefully get some helpful insight from you all, and to maybe even inspire someone else perusing the interwebs to get started on their own project.

I've been riding since my early 20's, but haven't had a bike for a few years, and I never really learned any of the mechanics behind the bikes I rode or even how to fix basic issues. I've been itching to get back in the saddle AND to learn more about how these creatures work, so a couple of weeks ago I threw caution to the wind and bought a "project bike". The story goes that this bike was running well, but was dirty, so after riding it for a while the previous owner decided to take it apart and clean it up. Tank, covers, fairing (which I'm selling) was all cleaned, painted and cleared. The frame was powdercoated. The external engine parts were meticulously cleaned. And then he (the previous owner) had to move to the west coast. So for five years this bike - taken apart and in boxes - has been sitting in a garage in SoCal. Everything looks great, so I'm very optimistic, though I obviously haven't heard the engine running yet.

Here's what it looked like when I brought it home:

And here's where I'm currently at:

The goal is a stripped down street bike with just a hint of "cafe" in it. Nothing too crazy. I wanna keep some of the Police heritage, but get rid of the fairing and the boxes.