• Page:

TOPIC:

I'm trying to build an Engine Dyno 17 Sep 2009 15:39 #322237

• Becker
  • Becker's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • The Doctor Will Rise Again
  • Thank you received: 1
Ok so I really want to build an engine dyno for rebuilding/testing/tuning motors. I have alot of scrap metal to build with and a millermatic 200 welder (actually its my dads stuff but he is quite generous with his tools and metal. can't thank him enough). I started drawing things up for the framework. I'm making it adjustable to fit more motors then just my 650's. I'm planning it to be the type that uses a flywheel and the motor needs to accelerate the flywheel.

So now for the questions.
First, if I attach the motor by the bottom motor mounts will it hold for full runs??

Second, how do I calculate gearing and weight for the flywheel??

Third, anyone know how to keep the engine cool while making dyno runs?? How do I measure the temperature of the motor?? Oil temp?? Laser temp sensor on the heads??

Fourth, what kind of sensor do you need to track the RPM's of the flywheel and how can I graph it vs time?? Anything will help I have no idea what direction to go in.

Fifth, I'm already planning on RPM's, temp, and maybe Air Fuel ratios for gauges, and Clutch, throttle, gear change, flywheel brake, and ignition switch for controls. Anything else I need??

Finally, is this even plausible?? I'm no dope when it comes to machining, welding, or the mathmetics of engines but I may be getting in to deep. Either way it should be fun to try. Any suggestions or anything else to comment on would help.

Oh ya and pictures will be coming.
78 KZ750B3
79 KZ400 LTD
78 KZ650C2
79 KZ650C3
78 KZ650B2A
80 KZ650F1
80 KZ650E1
81 CB750K Super Sport

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I'm trying to build an Engine Dyno 17 Sep 2009 15:48 #322240

• thompsonmx100
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0