Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

'79 KZ650-My First bike in.....all in pieces 14 Jul 2008 22:07 #226202

• Aloneinthedark
  • Aloneinthedark's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
So, I'm brand new to motorcycles. I don't even have a license, driven one maybe twice in my life :dry:. I know my way around under the hood of a car, done a few rebuilds, etc etc. Main thing is, I love working on engines, especially bringing dead ones back to life. So when an old high-school buddy of mine offers me his bike, which, btw, hasn't run in years, what do I say, but "Sure, why not!" Figured a new challenge would be fun. We hop in his truck, run out to his house, and he pulls open the garage door. What do I see? A frame that looks like it might be for a motorcycle, a rather dingy-looking engine, and about a dozen boxes of stuff piled in a corner :woohoo: At this point, he says "Beer?" "Yeah"
Six hours and quite a few beers later, I'm at my house sorting through parts, jars of nuts and bolts, trying to figure what I've gotten myself into. Frame and related parts are dirty, few plastic connectors broken, but otherwise in good shape. Engine is dirty, but on the surface, appears in pretty nice condition. Few days go by, a manual is bought, little cataloging is done, seems like everything is there. Few more days, and I discover this great site, and that's when I finally realised what I had in the garage :cheer:
Anyway, long story short, I'm going to attempt to put this bike back together and take my buddy for a ride or two. Budget is limited, work full-time and have an 18-month hooligan, so will prbly be fairly long term, but, what the hell, right? Forgive me in advance for the questions I'll have, and thanks for the help that this community has already provided!

Regards,
Matt

P.S.
Pictures on the way!!
1979 KZ650 C3
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.