Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1983 kz550 m1 ltd shaft carburetor rebuilding 14 Nov 2022 01:48 #876799

• alexp1289
  • alexp1289's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey everyone I've got a 1983kz550 m1 ltd shaft-driven bike and I need advice on rebuilding the carburetors. They are the tk26 carburetors and they haven't been cleaned in probably 10 years. Where do I start in terms of a decent kit that will have everything I need? What is the best method for cleaning them properly so they function like new? I've never rebuilt carburetors before but I have a friend that's going to help me and any help you can provide would be great as I'm going in blind to this. I'm new to working on bikes but I have lots of experience working on cars so I'm confident in my ability to do them I just need to be pointed in the right direction.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1983 kz550 m1 ltd shaft carburetor rebuilding 14 Nov 2022 08:48 #876815

• GpzGreen
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
I am afraid a kit with everything you need for them is not out there, I could not find one.
Your best bet is to get them apart and clean everything and keep things in order, maybe in an egg carton, carb 1, carb 2 etc.
Then bring the parts and the carbs to a bike shop that has been around for a long time so they can pick through their misc. O-rings and find the exact fit for everything.

That is where I am on the TK26 carbs.  I was lucky to find a shop that has been open for 40 years.  Most likely you will have to order the bowl gaskets/O-rings though.

Maybe others have better info. The hardest ones to find were the pilot plug O-rings.  Take your time and do a complete/thorough job.
1982 GPZ-550

Last edit: by GpzGreen.

1983 kz550 m1 ltd shaft carburetor rebuilding 14 Nov 2022 16:24 #876841

• riturbo
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 277
Gpz 750 turbo The one I ride
Gpz 750 turbo Not finished