• Page:

TOPIC:

How to run my Dad's Z1 drag bike? 12 Nov 2014 12:49 #653492

• DOHC
  • DOHC's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Those Doe-Hawks really go!
  • Thank you received: 503
So my Dad has a Z1 set up as a slick-&-wheelie-bar drag bike. He's offered to give it to me, which is really cool. I'd likely return it to a street bike, but I would want to run it first. It seems a shame to tear apart what my Dad built without even trying it once.

The problem is I've never once run a bike down the strip. I've been riding for 20 years, but this seems like a really big first step. I've never done a drag start on a bike, or a even a burnout for that matter...

Just to paint the picture, the engine is near 1200cc with big Lectron carbs and other Gast work. The frame/bodywork is all stock but has an extended swingarm with struts and wheelie bar and about a 6" wide slick tire. Other goodies include an air shifter, slipper clutch, and two stage rev. limiter.

When I last saw it run about 10 years ago he was getting 1/4 miles times of something like 10.65 @ 123 MPH.

So my question to those with drag racing experience. How would you recommend someone work up to a 10 second bike? How long would you expect this to take? Would it be crazy to start on this bike and work up to a full power start? Say, drop the revs and feather the clutch or something? It is feasible to practice starts in an empty parking lot (assuming it was far from houses)?

The real problem is that I don't want to make this my long term hobby. I just want to run my Dad's bike full out a few times to appreciate what he made, but without hurting myself or the bike.

So be straight with me. Should I give up and pull the engine my dad built and preserve it (build a curious piece of furniture around it like an end table or something), and just put the rear shocks and street tire back on?
'78 Z1-R in blue , '78 Z1-R in black, '78 Z1-R in pieces
My dad's '74 Z1
'00 ZRX1100