Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

79 KZ1000 head removal 21 Apr 2022 11:22 #865895

• Deuce
  • Deuce's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 4
After pulling the cam cover off as well as not seeing any metal in the oil pan, I need to remove the head from the engine.  As mentioned in an earlier thread, I can rotate the crank about 180 degrees, then I hit a hard stop.  I've been told it could be a stuck valve preventing further movement.

I just received my Kawasaki manual, so I'm ready to dig in to it.  However, the manuals can be overly technical (I repair copiers for a living, and they do the same thing.)  Is there a simpler procedure for removing cams and then the head that I can follow?  Sort of a "Head removal for Dummies" type of thing.  I am very good at keeping things separated, but I just need to know what to look for.
www.flickr.com/gp/162005819@N03/J055kUZ1a8

1982 GS1100G
1997 Yamaha Vmax
1979 Kawasaki 1000

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Deuce.

79 KZ1000 head removal 21 Apr 2022 12:49 #865899

• Wookie58
  • Thank you received: 1782
Firstly I would advise that the manual is your "friend" especially if you don't have a lot of experience with motors. Getting it wrong can be expensive ( when you remove cams you are fighting the valve springs so not following the correct sequence can seriously damage the head or cam caps which are matched to the head)
I would suggest before you dive headlong into a motor strip you do some basic checks, 
  1. have you checked the cam timing as previously mentioned in the earlier post
  2. if the timing is correct, when you rotate the engine (as much as you can) if you have a valve stuck open (possibly bent) when the bucket is off the cam lobe it will still sit noticeably lower than the other buckets on closed valves