Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1983 KZ440 Master Cylinder Rebuild 24 Mar 2020 05:17 #821562

• Grcko
  • Grcko's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 30
I have an original master cylinder for this bike I am cleaning up. The piston seems good so I would like to remove it and the brake light switch so I can get it repainted. My question(s) are:
How do you pull the piston? I removed the plastic clip but have no idea on how to remove the piston. Manual says pull it out but how?
How do you remove the the brake light switch? It looks like it is just just pushed on but I am afraid to pull it out in fear of breaking it.
Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
As Always,

1983 KZ440

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1983 KZ440 Master Cylinder Rebuild 24 Mar 2020 05:33 #821564

• Nessism
  • Away
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2673
The switch should have tabs on the side which you need to depress before pulling the switch out of the master casting. Regarding removal of the piston, the parts fishe shows a stopper part which has to come out first. I'm not sure what this part looks like but hopefully it's a snap ring type arrangement and not press fit into the bore. At any rate, that's what needs to come out.

www.partzilla.com/catalog/kawasaki/motor...aster-cylinder-80-a1

1983 KZ440 Master Cylinder Rebuild 24 Mar 2020 05:38 #821565

• Grcko
  • User
I did remove that plastic snap ring but the only way I can see getting the piston out is to push it out from the other end. I am nervous about pushing on it and messing up the side I am pushing on.
I will look for the tabs on the switch and give it a try tonight.
As Always,

1983 KZ440

1983 KZ440 Master Cylinder Rebuild 24 Mar 2020 06:59 #821569

• martin_csr
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1621