• Page:

TOPIC:

Common Problems Among the Z1/KZ Line 09 Apr 2022 12:35 #865173

• zanebenziger27
  • zanebenziger27's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,

I am new to the Z1 / KZ platform as well as riding as a whole. I’m building up a 1976 Kawasaki KZ900 from box parts that I was given as well as a good condition frame and decent engine.

Are there any inherent problems with the  platform or anything I need to “bulletproof “ before I put the thing together? I’m not going for a cafe racer build or a stock restoration but more something along the lines of a resto mod. Any advice would be helpful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Common Problems Among the Z1/KZ Line 09 Apr 2022 15:52 #865181

• hardrockminer
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1008
The engines are already bullet proof.  The only weakness I can think of is the single disc front brake.  It doesn't. have a lot of stopping power, so you might want to consider duel disc brakes on the front, along with a larger brake master cylinder.
I have several restored bikes along with a 2006 Goldwing with a sidecar. My wife has a 2019 Suzuki DR 650 for on and off road.

Common Problems Among the Z1/KZ Line 09 Apr 2022 16:55 #865189

• TexasKZ
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 2043
The stock suspension was pretty average when new, and there have been significant improvements since then. You did not mention a specific model, but since you did mention the Z1, I assume you are asking about the liter bikes (900, 1000, 1100). The Z1 and early 1000s had rather wobbly frames. The J-engined bikes (1982 and newer) were a bit better. The police bikes had the stiffest ones. If you are not planning a serious performance build, this will not likely be a problem. 
The biggest problem is previous owners.
1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough