Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Howdy from Saint Louis! 1978 KZ1000 LTD 31 Mar 2021 13:37 #845872

• shiloh
  • shiloh's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Howdy, Everyone!I wanted to properly introduce myself after being a lurker for awhile! I am very happy this site exists for the communal knowledge alone! A little about me: I work in IT, and a fairly hands-on person. For the last few years, I have been focusing more on my Tacoma for remote trips into Utah’s backcountry! 

A little about me and my bike:
I have owned my 1978 KZ1000 B2 for a little more than a decade.  It has almost 36,000 miles. It was in fair shape when I first bought it. It had a “decent” spray paint job by the previous, but I will be looking to paint it again. The original burgundy coat is now showing through since the spray paint is flaking off.  I rode it constantly for about 3 summers before having to move across the country for a job. When I moved, I left the bike at my parent's house because I wasn't sure if I would have room for it. I ended up moving back to STL after 5 years of being out west. After settling back in stl, I decided to drive out to my parents and pick up my bike. To my horror, my father moved my bike outside and left it uncovered during this entire period which isn’t what we agreed on. To say the least, I was very unhappy. I mean, the bike had plants growing inside of it! Even my wife was in shock.
I brought the bike to the shop immediately, just to have a look over. I was also in the process of restoring my grandfather's motorcycle. I spent all of last summer working on his bike, and now I finally have the time and resources to get working on this bike! I'm looking to keep the bike as close to stock as possible besides sensible mods. I'm not looking to chop or cafe it.Here’s what it absolutely needs:
Battery
Tach cable
Front brake calipers rebuilt + pads replaced
New brake lines
All new fluid
New tires
New seat (pan is rusted through)